Recipes- Irish Soda Bread

9 Jul
 Image
 
I LOVE Soda Bread.  Today I had a hankering, but no buttermilk.  I googled a recipe sans buttermilk and found this beauty from an online forum:
 
“Irish Soda Bread–White Version

Combine:

4 cups flour
1 tablespoon sugar
1-3/4 teaspoons baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1-1/2 cups water
2 teaspoons cider vinegar

Stir; it very quickly becomes dough. Form a round loaf. Place on greased baking sheet. Cut slits in top. Bake 40 minutes at 400° F.”

 
I tried it out, and at first it was very runny.  It’s been quite hot here and my kitchen was already scorching from dinner so I’m not sure if that made the dough a little different.  I kept adding a tiny bit of flour until it finally had some thickness to it.  I wasn’t really ever able to get it to form into a loaf, it kind of plopped out onto the baking pan.  I also only cooked mine for about 25 minutes since it became so flat.  It tastes pretty good, a little too floury though which is my own fault.  
Leave a Reply

